About Department Of Telecommunications

The telecom services have been recognized the world-over as an important tool for socio economic development for a nation and hence telecom infrastructure is treated as a crucial factor to realize the socio-economic objectives in India. Accordingly, the Department of Telecom has been formulating developmental policies for the accelerated growth of the telecommunication services. The Department is also responsible for grant of licenses for various telecom services like Unified Access Service Internet and VSAT service. The Department is also responsible for frequency management in the field of radio communication in close coordination with the international bodies. It also enforces wireless regulatory measures by monitoring wireless transmission of all users in the country.


Established in 1927, FICCI is the largest and oldest apex business organisation in India. Its history is closely interwoven with India's struggle for independence, its industrialization, and its emergence as one of the most rapidly growing global economies.

A non-government, not-for-profit organisation, FICCI is the voice of India's business and industry. From influencing policy to encouraging debate, engaging with policy makers and civil society, FICCI articulates the views and concerns of industry. It serves its members from the Indian private and public corporate sectors and multinational companies, drawing its strength from diverse regional chambers of commerce and industry across states, reaching out to over 2,50,000 companies.

FICCI provides a platform for networking and consensus building within and across sectors and is the first port of call for Indian industry, policy makers and the international business community.

India Telecom Working Group

Secretary (T), Department of Telecommunications, Ministry of Telecommunications, Government of India


  • Mr. R K Pathak, DDG (IC), Department of Telecommunications
  • Dr. A Didar Singh, FICCI
  • Mr. Rajan Mathews, COAI
  • Mr. Ashok Sud, AUSPI
  • Mr. N.K. Goyal, TEMA, CMAI
  • Mr. Tilak Raj Dua, TAIPA
  • Mr. T.V. Ramachandran, Broadband India Forum
  • Mr. Pankaj Mohindroo, ICA
  • Cmd. Shyam Kaushal, WIMAX
  • Mr. M N Vidyashankar IESA
  • Mr. Anil Prakash, ITU-APT
  • Mr. Rajesh Chharia, ISPAI
  • Mr Tapan K. Patra, ACTO